Huelskamp moves forward with anti-equality legislation


Representative Tim Huelskamp presented a bill to amend marriage equality in the Constitution. The proposal gained 28 cosponsors, all from the Republican Party. 

“Marriage in the United States shall consist only of the union of a man and a woman,” the proposed bill stated. “Neither this Constitution, nor the constitution of any State, shall be construed to require that marriage or the legal incidents thereof be conferred upon any union other than the union of a man and a woman.”

Find a full list of cosponsors below. 

Huelskamp continues to push for his proposal, despite colleagues being in disagreement with the initiative. 

“It is a complete and utter waste of time. It is a waste of taxpayer dollars. It clearly demonstrates that he has nothing better to do,” said Kansas Democratic Party spokesman Dakota Loomis. “He is holding on to this divisive and hateful legislation when he should be focused on bringing jobs back to the First District. This will not help the farmers.”

Topeka Councilman Chad Manspeaker also commented that Huelskamp’s action would not help Kansas’ reputation.

“I make no assumptions about how Kansans feel about LGBT rights,” Topeka Councilman Chad Manspeaker (D) said. “In 2005, a constitutional amendment passed with 70 percent of the vote. Huelskamp is symbolic of that mentality, but that was eight years ago. Times are changing. Huelskamp is becoming a national joke. Kansas needs less national jokes and more leadership.”


Republican cosponsors to Huelskamp’s legislation include:

Frank Wolf from Virginia
Joe Barton from Texas
Louie Gohmert from Texas
Ralph Hall from Texas
Sam Johnson from Texas
Steven Stockman from Texas
Randy Neugebauer from Texas
Jim Bridenstine from Oklahoma
Mo Brooks from Alabama
Lynn Westmoreland from Georgia
Paul Broun from Georgia
Tim Wahlberg from Michigan
Jeff Duncan from South Carolina
John Fleming from Louisiana
Trent Franks from Arizona
Andy Harris from Maryland
Randy Hultgren from Illinois
Jim Jordan from Ohio
James Lankford from Oklahoma
Mark Meadows from North Carolina
Robert Pittenger from North Carolina
Walter Jones from North Carolina
Steven Palazzo from Mississippi
Chris Smith from New Jersey
Bill Shuster from Pennsylvania
Joe Pitts from Pennsylvania
David Schweikert from Arizona
Stevan Pearce from New Mexico

About The Author

Send this to friend