GLAAD announces nominees for new International Advocate for Change Award


For the first time, US-based LGBT media advocacy organization GLAAD is honoring international activists, with its brand new International Advocate for Change Award; it will be presented at the 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards.

GLAAD Chief Executive Officer & President Sarah Kate Ellis said in a press release, “As equality in America continues to advance, it’s important that we focus attention on LGBT people across the globe who still lack even the most basic protections, as well as the courageous advocates working to advance human rights in those places. Therefore, we are proud to recognize the groundbreaking work of LGBT people and our allies in other countries at the Silver Anniversary of the GLAAD Media Awards.”

The organization’s first British national board member, Anthony Watson, added, “As we make enormous strides in LGBT equality across the United States, in both policy and culture, it becomes even more important to support LGBT people outside the United States. GLAAD operates in a global context and our critical work transcends national boundaries. As such, it’s only fitting that we honor global LGBT citizens and allies who make a significant and demonstrable difference in our community around the world. As the first British citizen and first non-American citizen to be appointed to GLAAD’s National Board of Directors, I am particularly excited that we are choosing the 25th anniversary of the GLAAD Media Awards to advance GLAAD’s support for the international LGBT community with the creation of the International Advocate for Change Award.”

The new award is part of the recently announced GLAAD Global Voices program, which intends to increase support for LGBT equality all over the world by putting human faces on the issues—sharing their stories in media around the globe.

The nominees for the International Advocate for Change Award are:

Boy Abunda (Filipino television host)
Charlie Condou (British actor)
Manny de Guerre (Russian organizer of the Side by Side LGBT Film Festival)
Jane Hill (BBC journalist and broadcaster)
Imran Khan (Indian actor and LGBT ally)
Anton Krasovsky (Russian journalist)
Daniela Mercury (Brazilian singer)
Pratibha Parmar (British filmmaker)
Bishop Christopher Senyonjo (Ugandan clergyman and LGBT ally)
Florencia Trinidad (Argentinian transgender actress)
Sophie Ward (British actor and writer)
Jin Xing (Chinese transgender actress and dancer)

GLAAD said in the press release, “Each of the international media professionals has demonstrated commitment to supporting LGBT equality through their work with the media.”

The nominees will be profiled on during the next few weeks.

Earlier in 2014, ninety-three nominees were announced for twenty English-language categories, and thirty-seven Spanish-language nominees in nine categories.

The GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies will be held in two parts: at The Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles on April 12, and at the Waldorf Astoria New York on May 3.


About The Author

Just another multi-disciplinary writer and bundle of contradictions trying to figure out how to get the most out of life, and make a living while I'm at it.

Send this to friend