NYC Pride announces this year’s grand marshals


New York City’s annual Pride March is one of the biggest in the country. Today, they announced this year’s grand marshals: actress and activist Laverne Cox, Executive Director of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Rea Carey, and actor Jonathan Groff. 

“Our 2014 marshals are leaders in brilliant forms of activism through which LGBT people and their allies engage,” March Director David Studinski said in a statement. “Individually, they represent the diversity within the LGBT community and the various struggles our community members have and continue to face. Collectively, their stories reinforce that no voice is too small nor weak to make change in our world — and it starts with being yourself.”

This year’s NYC Pride marks the 45th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots, with a theme of “We Have Won When We’re One.” It will be held starting at noon on Sunday, June 29. 

For more information, visit the official website here


About The Author

Send this to friend